There are two components of IT Security in relation to the governance structure, policy development and technical infrastructure. The IT Security Council is considered the policy group and the IT Security SIG is part of ITAC and deals with technical infrastructure.

IT Security Council

The IT Security Council does not meet on a regular basis, rather they meet as needed.  The IT Security Council has developed and presented several IT policies to the IT Planning & Policy Committee, which have also been presented to the Executive Steering Committee.  The IT Security Council to date has involved an internal OIT group, Carlene Jones from Accounts Receivables, and the Office of Counsel.  Additional policies are either being developed or need to be developed.  The IT Security Officer, Ashley Ewing, welcomes the involvement of an interested University community member in the process.